Scholarships, Awards, Credits


Transit Executive Program:
There are three scholarship opportunities available to Transit Executive Program applicants: a) The Frank J. Lichtanski Memorial Scholarship offered by the American Public Transportation Foundation; b)  the Robert J. Prince, Jr. Scholarship offered by the Conference of Minority Transportation Officials (COMTO); and c) Eno Alumni Fund Travel Grants. Participants apply to scholarships simultaneously with their application to the Program. If a participant is admitted but is not awarded a scholarship, he or she can choose to attend at full tuition or defer admission to a later year.

Frank J. Lichtanski Memorial Scholarship
The American Public Transportation Foundation (APTF) has honored Frank J. Lichtanski, long time General Manager/CEO of Monterey-Salinas Transit in California by creating the Frank J. Lichtanski Scholarship Fund. Mr. Lichtanski is remembered for his 31 years of dedication to providing the very best transit service to the people of Monterey County. In memory of his dedication to the public transit industry and support of small and medium-sized transit agencies, the scholarship has been established to provide tuition support in the amount of $2,500 (participant’s agency will be invoiced for remaining tuition costs) to an eligible candidate from a small or medium-sized transit agency. The winner of the Frank Lichtanski Scholarship also receives a waiver of registration fees for the APTA Annual Meeting.

Robert Prince, Jr. Scholarship
The Conference Of Minority Transportation Officials (COMTO) and AECOM have honored Robert Prince, Jr. for his dedication to the growth and development of emerging leaders in the transit industry by creating the Robert Prince Scholarship. Mr. Prince has demonstrated a lifelong commitment to the education of the transit workforce in his roles as a leader in the public and private sectors of the transportation industry, in his volunteer commitment to youth in Boston, and as board member of COMTO and the American Public Transportation Foundation. The scholarship will be awarded to a senior leader in the transit industry who currently reports directly to the General Manager/CEO. The recipient should have a career goal to become a transit General Manager/CEO in a rural, small urban or urban transit agency. Preference is given to current members of COMTO. The winner of the Robert Prince Scholarship also receives a registration waiver and travel support to the COMTO Annual Conference, and is encouraged to participate in the COMTO Leadership Institute.

Eno Alumni Fund Travel Grants
Admitted participants who demonstrate difficulty in obtaining employer-paid travel can receive a travel grant from the Eno Alumni Fund. The Eno Alumni Fund is supported by small donations by previous Eno graduates and other supporters. Awards are capped at $500 and may be paid using direct billed travel/lodging. Applicants should submit a memo or email from supervisors that describes a travel ban or severe limitation of available travel funds. Preference will be given to students who must pay for the balance of travel costs using personal funds.

Future Leaders Development Conference:

Diane Woodend Jones, WTS Chair, Scholarship
Each year, The Women in Transportation Seminar (WTS)  select a candidate to attend Eno’s Leadership Development Conference. If you are a WTS member and would like to apply for this opportunity, please visit the WTS website. If you have questions regarding eligibility or the application contact, please contact Rosa Chung, Director of Operations at WTS, at 202-955-5085 or

Conference of Minority Transportation Officials Award
The Conference of Minority Transportation Officials (COMTO) award will be given to one outstanding student who is a COMTO member. COMTO selects the candidate to attend Eno’s Future Leaders Development Conference.

If you are a COMTO member and would like to apply for this opportunity, please contact Brandi Williams, Program Manager, at

Council of University Transportation Centers Award
The Council of University Transportation Centers (CUTC) will select a masters degree student for a seat in the LDC. The student will be selected in conjunction with other CUTC awards.

If you have questions regarding the CUTC masters degree seat in the Eno LDC program, please contact Dr. Tom O’Brien at


Public Private Partnerships (P3) Course Series:
Professional Development Hours
If both courses are taken, students will be able to earn up to 40 total Professional Development Hours (PDH). Six AICP Certification Maintenance credits are also available. For more information contact Alex Bond at  or 202-879-4714.


Lifetime Achievement Award

The Eno Center for Transportation’s Lifetime Achievement Award honors an individual who has demonstrated outstanding leadership throughout their career in the transportation industry. Despite facing challenging circumstances, the recipient has demonstrated notable accomplishments and has relentlessly pursued these achievements on behalf of the public interest. Most notably, contributions throughout their career – in both theory and practice – have changed the transportation industry for the better.

Former Lifetime Achievement Award Recipients: 

  • Former Deputy Secretary and Chief Operating Officer of the U.S. Department of Transportation Mortimer Downey (2016)
  • Former Chief Operating Officer of AECOM Jane Chmielinski (2015)
  • Former Chairman and CEO of the New York Metropolitan Transportation Authority Peter Stangl (2014)
  • Former President, Chairman and CEO of Norfolk Southern David Goode(2013)
  • Former Massachusetts Secretary of Transportation Fred Salvucci (2012)
  • Former President of the American Public Transportation Association William Millar (2011)
  • Former U.S. Secretary of Transportation Norman Mineta (2010)

The winner will be required to accept the award at the Future Leaders Development Conference (LDC) dinner in June 2017 in Washington, DC. The Eno Board of Directors will consider all qualified candidates and select the winner.

Nominators are asked to support LDC on behalf of the person nominated. This can be a personal or corporate donation, and the scholarship(s) will be named in the awardee’s honor. Contribution is voluntary and all nominations will be considered, with or without pledges of financial support.

Nomination Instructions:
  • Nominations should consist of a letter (no more than two pages) indicating how the nominee meets the criteria
  • Provide name, title, organization/affiliation, and the contact information of the candidate
  • Provide the name, title, organization/affiliation, and contact information of the person submitting the nomination
  • Pledge financial support for students participating in LDC 2017 (voluntary)
  • Use email subject line “LDC 2017”
  • Email nominations to or mail to Alisha Robinson, Eno Center for Transportation, 1710 Rhode Island Avenue, NW, Suite 500, Washington, DC 20036
NOMINATION DEADLINE: Friday, October 28, 2016

Friend of Eno Award

The Eno Center for Transportation’s Wilbur S. Smith Award honors individuals who have given years of extraordinary support and service to Eno.

The Eno Board of Directors named this award after former President and Chairman Wilbur S. Smith who spent more than 20 years of his career with Eno. An innovator in modern transportation systems, Mr. Smith helped design and develop major parts of the interstate highway system, the New Jersey Turnpike, the Chesapeake Bay Bridge Tunnel and the mass transit system in Washington, DC. He also counseled the National Aeronautics and Space Administration on ways to operate commercial ventures in space. Mr. Smith’s accomplishments as an engineer and businessman over those decades represent an extraordinary example of one man’s determination, hard work, imagination, and leadership. He was intuitive, saw trends, and moved to take advantage of them.